Monday, April 7, 2008

Oracle Database Architecture

Generally, Oracle RDBMS (Relation Database Management System) architecture consist of following components: Memory, processes, and files. The components are grouped into following:

  1. Instance
    - Instance memory or System Global Area (SGA): Shared Pool (Libary Cache and Data Dictionary Cache), Database Buffer Cache, Redolog Buffer Cache, Java Pool, Large Pool.
    - Back ground process: PMON, SMON, DBWR, LGWR, CKPT, Others

  2. Database
    - Datafiles
    - Control files
    - Redo log files

  3. Other components
    - Other process: Server Process, user process
    - Other memory: Program Global Area (PGA)
    - Other files: Archived logs, parameter, and password files